

An Chartlann Náisiúnta National Archives

Reference Code: 2021/97/7

Creator(s): Department of the Taoiseach

Accession Conditions: Open

Copyright: National Archives, Ireland. May only be

reproduced with the written permission of the

Director of the National Archives.

THE INTERNATIONAL BODY

Address in Duhlin

Senator George J. Mitchell (Chairman)

Address in Belfast

Block L.
Ship Street Range,
Ship Street,
Dublin Castle,
Dublin 2.

General John de Chastelain

Mr. Harri Holkeri

12th Fluor, Windsor House, 6-12 Bedford St., Belfast.

Tel. No. (01) 4759600 Fax No. (01) 4759614 Tel.No.(01232) 895900 Fax No. (01232) 322988

STATEMENT OF THE INTERNATIONAL BODY FOLLOWING DECEMBER MEETINGS IN BELFAST Saturday, December 16, 1995

We have just completed two days of meetings in Belfast. We met with Sir Patrick Mayhew and other officials of the Government of the United Kingdom, representatives of the political parties, religious leaders and other relevant persons. A complete list of the participants is attached.

We appreciate the participation of all who met with the International Body during these two days. The discussions were candid and straightforward. We learned a great deal about this complex issue.

As we announced yesterday, we will return to Belfast and Dublin in January to continue our work. We will announce that schedule in the near future.

We want to reiterate a statement we made yesterday morning - we have and we will continue to have open minds and are motivated solely by the desire to make a constructive contribution. We look forward to our meetings in Dublin.

THE INTERNATIONAL BODY

Address in Duhlin

Senator George J. Mitchell (Chairman)

Address in Belfast

Block I. Ship Street Range, Ship Street, Dublia Castle.

Dublin 2.

General John de Chastelain

Mr. Harri Holkeri

12th Floor. Windsor House. 6-12 Bedford St., Belfast.

Tel. No. (01) 4759600 Fax No. (01) 4759614 Tel.No (01232) 895900 Fax No. (01232) 322988

THE INTERNATIONAL BODY MET ON DECEMBER 15 & 16, 1995 IN BELFAST WITH THE FOLLOWING:

The Government of the United Kingdom

The Secretary of State Sir Patrick Mayhew QC MP supported by: Sir John Wheeler MP Minister of State for Security Michael Ancram MP Minister of State for Political Development and senior officials

Two Alliance Party

Mr. John Alderdice, Leader

Mr. Seamus Close, Deputy Leader

Mr. Sean Neeson, Chief Whip Mr. Steve McBride, Chair

Ms. Eileen Bell, Vice Chair

The Labour Party

Dr. Marjorie (Mo) Mowlam, MP, Shadow Secretary of State for Northern Ireland

Mr. Tony Worthington, MP, Labour Shadow Northern Ireland Minister

Mr. Clive Soley, MP

Mr. Nigel Warner, Assistant to Dr Mowlam

Reverend Roy Magee, retired Presbyterian minister

Mr. Robert McCartney, MP, Independent UK Unionist

The Methodist Church in Ireland

Reverend David Cooper, Council on Social Responsibility
Dr. David Gallagher
Reverend Henry Keys
Mr. Harald Good

The Presbyterian Church in Ireland

Dr. Godfrey Brown, Convener of the Church and Government Committee Reverend Samuel Hutchinson, Clerk of the General Assembly Dr. Warren Porter, Member, Church and Government Committee Reverend Ivor Smith, Member, Church and Government Committee

The Progressive Unionist Party (PUP)

Mr. David Ervine Mr. Billy Hutchinson Mr. William Smith Mr. Jackie Mahood

The Royal Ulster Constabulary (RUC)

Mr. Hugh Annesley, Chief Constable, and senior officials

The Social Democratic and Labour Party (SDLP)

Mr. John Hume, MP, MEP, Leader Mr. Seamus Mallon, MP

The Ulster Democratic Party (UDP)

Mr. Gary McMichael Mr. Gary Matthews

The Uister Unionist Party (UUP)

Mr. David Trimble, MP, Leader Mr. Ken Maginnis, MP

The Workers Party

Mr. Tom French Mr. John Lowry Mr. Des O'Hagan